Premier legal representation for parking and moving violations
When you purchase a vehicle, the law requires that you gain registration, and most states require that you carry insurance.
However, you may wonder if you can register and insure your vehicle in a state you do not live in most of the time. These are things you should know about this issue.
The law requires that you register and insure your vehicles in the state in which you reside most of the time. For example, if you live in New York most of the year but spend two months in your vacation home in Florida, you need to insure and register your vehicles in New York. However, some states, such as Florida, require that you change your registration and insurance if you reside in the state for more than 90 days. Your registration should always reflect the address on your driver’s license.
If you choose to register in another state, you could face prosecution for fraud. This may involve criminal charges that could result in up to $50,000 in fines, jail time or felony probation.
In addition, the insurance company can deny any claims you make, and the company will likely cancel your policy. However, speak with your insurance agent if you have homes in multiple states.
If you are moving to New York, you have 30 days to change your driver’s license, vehicle registration and insurance to reflect your new address. You become a New York resident after 90 days.
There are exceptions to these rules, such as attending college in a different state or military service, so check with your insurance agent and state vehicle registration department.
Fields marked with an * are required
"*" indicates required fields